Viewing 24 posts - 1 through 24 (of 24 total)
  • New to road cycling, literally a pain in the neck!
  • matthewmountain
    Free Member

I’m new to road cycling. I went to three different bike shops and after I told them what I wanted (a comfortable road bike) they all suggested a Cannondale Synapse 54cm frame (alloy). I borrowed one from LBS and rode it for an hour, with no problems. I’m 5’10 with 32-inch legs.

However I’ve been out on it twice, once for 30 miles, and once for 60 miles. My legs are great, but my neck and shoulders are extremely sore. Is it that I’m just not used to the position? Does it take a while to overcome this? Or is the bike set up wrong? The LBS, which sells Cevelo and other high-end stuff, seemed to know what they were doing when they fitted it to me. I didn’t have a pro-fit 3D job (which this LBS doesn’t offer), just basic advice and a 30-minute set up from the roadie in the place.

Have I wasted my cash? I enjoyed being out but neck and shoulder pain became too much. I’m not that old either!!

Help !!!

Thanks

MM

JohnClimber
    Free Member

Wrong forum to ask such a question.

No one on here owns a road bike, or will admit to it 😉

Steve-Austin
    Free Member

Don’t grip the bars so hard. Typical MTBer problem, Trying to wrestle the bars of a roadbike.
    Try sitting upright a bit more, and rest your hands on the bars.

mrmo
    Free Member

yes it does take a while to adapt to the position, but tweaking the position may help, raise your bars a bit.

Fit is not rocket science, unlike what some will say, if your new to road bikes it will take time to find what works for you.

Stuey01
    Free Member

Give it a few more rides before you start changing things. It takes time to get used to it.

RealMan
    Free Member

Relax, allow your shoulders to drop a bit. Don’t hog the drops. You will get used to it.

whatnobeer
    Free Member