Viewing 33 posts - 1 through 33 (of 33 total)
  • New to cycling
  • usr0999
    Free Member

Hi all.

I’m new to cycling and will be buying a road bike in the next month. I’ll be commuting 26 miles (round trip) from Essex to London so would like to know if any of you have any recomendations. My budget is £1200.

By researching I’ve found what I think are good bikes for the price, what are your thoughts?

Specialized Roubaix SL4 Disc 2014 Road Bike
    Specialized Tarmac SL4 2014 Road Bike
    Planet X Pro Carbon Shimano Ultegra 6800

Thanks to all in advance for your advice.

kayak23

Welcome to cycling!
    Your trouble is, that there isn’t really any roadies on this forum…
    😉

nemesis
    Free Member

Welcome along 🙂

Try all three and buy the one you like 🙂 Be aware that a road bike may not feel comfortable straight away, particularly if you’re new to cycling.

Another alternative would be to buy something cheap secondhand to get an idea of how it feels and then spend more once you’re clearer on what you want.

stevied
    Free Member

Welcome aboard!

Your trouble is, that there isn’t really any roadies people who ride bikes on this forum FTFY 😉

Nobeerinthefridge
    Free Member

Welcome mate! Condider a flat bar road bike, as you’re new to cycling. Much comfier, not really any slower unless you plan on using the lower part of the drop bars often, which you probably won’t.

More importantly, enjoy it. It won’t be long before you work out who tals shite on here, which is most of us! 😀

CaptainFlashheart
    Free Member

If you’re commuting, two are wrong, I’m afraid.

Go for something on the comfier end of the spectrum for commuting. The Roubaix is a little comfier, but falls down on not having mudguard or rack fittings. If you’re using it to commute over that sort of distance, and all year round, get some full length mudguards on there, and put your kit in panniers.

jambalaya
    Free Member