Viewing 19 posts - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)
  • New shed build, first timer…:
  • squealer
    Free Member

I thought I’d have a go at building my own having seen the inspiring threads on here.
    My background is totally office based job l, never attempted anything like this before so this was a build based on making it up as I go!

I originally wanted a 6m x 3m summerhouse type build but the wife killed that idea

Gunz
    Free Member

You go for it squealer.

roundwheels
    Free Member

You don’t listen to the wife on these matters,

sadexpunk

aye, plenty of threads on here (mine included) and people willing to offer good advice. go for it and keep the thread updated with pics.

Rich_s

Very similar story here – got an odd shaped bit of garden space to fill and could do with some space to work from home in.

My thoughts were to try and build a kids shed first to see how it went / get the right mantools.

Main issue is the fun police is sceptical…

squealer
    Free Member

Ok, started it yesterday.

It’s 3m x 3m.

First was building the timber base. I hate abandoned concrete pads so wanted a timber base in case we ever demolish it.

That was quite easy to build.

Next was levelling it and putting 19mm osb on the base. Again pretty easy and my youngest gave it a thumbs up so I guess I did ok 🙂

Build the sides next. Hat was quite time consuming with the sides being sloping and all bit went ok. The window was left over from a previous garage conversion we had builders do.
    Roped my dad in to help me erect it all.

And finally started the roof. 12mm osb. Not sure on the covering, felt seems a bit boring so am currently looking for alternatives.

Next week will be the cladding, and some kind of door.

Pretty happy with it so far for a first timer!

properbikeco
    Free Member

good progress – well done!

kayak23

Nice work. What are you cladding it with?