Viewing 28 posts - 1 through 28 (of 28 total)
  • New Guy! Looking at 29er? Or Possibly a 27.5 (650) Undecided Dilemma. Help!
  • moss
    Free Member

Hi All,
    I’m new to the Singletrack Forum. I’m a road bike enthusiast; but also ride the trails and a bit of cross country on my old rigid MTB’s. I’ve recently been looking at the 29ers (Trek Cobia or similar) also looking at the new-ish 27.5 (650) (Giant Talon 650) I realise there’s been much debate about these bikes! But which one is here to stay?? I think the 650, could be just a flash in the pan?? I know the 29ers have become extremely popular with XC cyclists. What are your thoughts on these bikes? Oh; and any recommendations with a link to a bargain, would be appreciated. Thanks…

no_eyed_deer
    Free Member

29 – dull, possibly about to fade away a bit

650 – probably a silly fad, with little advantages

26 about to die (apparently)

Three competing standards – pick one. 🙂

notmyrealname
    Free Member

Find a local shop that has demo bikes with both wheel sizes.
    Test ride the bikes.
    Decide which one you like most and buy it.

😀

z1ppy

Try one and make your own decision, that wot I did, and now very happy with my new bike.

69er
    Free Member

I’ve been here for years and still can’t decide….

6079smithw
    Free Member

Full suspension > wheel size

moss
    Free Member

Even after riding and trying I find it difficult to decide. Appreciate your input though; very enlightening mae mae baa baa.

69er, are you an old timer like me?

Forgot to say it’s a Hartail bike I’m looking at.

69er
    Free Member

Old timer? Guilty m’lud. I’m 50 and the clock is ticking faster every day 😉

6079smithw
    Free Member

moss – Member

Forgot to say it’s a Hartail bike I’m looking at.
    Would you buy a 4×4 without rear suspension?

roverpig