Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • New Fox 40 Factory harsh and non-sensitive
  • suxfevi
    Free Member

Hello everyone,

A few months ago I bought a Canyon Sender with a Fox 40 Factory (model 2016). Recently, I realized that the fork has very little sensitivity: when I slowly put weight on it, the fork compresses slightly, then it gets stuck, then it moves again, then it gets stuck, and so on. In short, instead of moving continuously in a smooth way, the fork moving keeps stopping until more weight is loaded.

I have some experience in servicing forks and I know that usually this problems means that oil is missing in the open bath; therefore I opened the fork (there was plenty of oil as it is new) and I changed the oil. I also checked the air chamber and made sure there was sufficient oil there. Having put the fork back together, I tried to compress the stanchions individually: no problem! They both compress really smoothly.

Finally, I put the fork back on the bike, and for some reason that I can’t understand, the problem was still there. I don’t understand how this is possible, as the stanchions were moving perfectly when I was trying them individually. The only explanation that I can think of is that there is an imperfection in the geometry of the lower leg: this makes the stanchion move at an angle instead of parallel, therefore creating this friction which makes the fork getting stuck.

Has this ever happened to anyone? What’s the problem? Can you suggest a way to fix it?
    The fork is brand new. It was used about 5-6 times. It shouldn’t have this kind of issue, not for that price!
    Also you should know that the high and low speed compression valves were fully open the whole time.

tomhoward

Where in the travel range are we talking? Below the sag point? How much extra force are you having to add to get it to start compressing again?

legend
    Free Member