Viewing 19 posts - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)
  • New bike doesn't feel right.
  • manlikegregonabike
    Free Member

So I have built up a Stump29 evo 2015 with a 160 fork in size L, I am 6ft. Bars 750, stem 50.
    I seem to have trouble getting my ass back and the the front seems to get stuck in holes. Which seems odd from what I have heard about 29ers. The fit just does not feel right. This is my first time on a 29er after coming from a stumpy 26 2011.

What may be wrong with my set up or is it the frame?

6079smithw
    Free Member

try a narrower bar

manlikegregonabike
    Free Member

narrower!? Really, what would be your reasoning out of curiosity?

Scienceofficer
    Free Member

750 is narrow for me these days.

Fork travel too soft or diving? Bars too low? Cockpit too long?

chakaping
    Free Member

My suspicion is that the bar is too high, not giving you enough room to move around on the bike and lift the front out of those holes.

Is 160mm a bit long for that bike? I have a 160mm fork on my Enduro 29 and it works best with a flat bar. Even a low rise bar compromises the handling for me.

PeterPoddy
    Free Member

It’s a new bike with a new wheel size for you. Of course it’ll feel different.. Get 500 miles ridden and then come back to us! 🙂

damascus
    Free Member

We need a picture of you on the bike.

Why did you go for 160 travel?

Is it 135 or 140 rear travel on the 2015 stumpy model?

What riser do you have on the bars?

manlikegregonabike
    Free Member

I think the bars are too high so may drop the forks to 140. I came around 160 as it was all I could buy at the time.

Stiffened up the fork and now doesn’t dive as much but still front heavy.

The bike is 135 rear.

I have a 20mm ride bar with 5mm rise stem so that rises it alotish.

I’ll get a picture of it, my friend said ride the ‘f’ out of it and then decide haha

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B89E_qhkd45COWFHa2Jxa25jejQ

rickon
    Free Member