Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • New bike advice
  • shansen
    Free Member

Hi All,

My first post here after a long time lurking!

I am looking for some advice please.

I am looking for a new bike and would like a full suspension bike. I currently have a Voodoo Bizango. I have been riding for two years after returning to the sport from a long break. I mainly ride at the weekend at trail centres (my closest is the forest of dean) and occasional trips to bike park wales. I am venturing to the alps this summer and have started to enjoy downhills more. I am also planning to enter the Hamsterley Beast this year.

I am a cheapskate so I would like as cheap as possible but want something I can keep hold of. I am planning on getting rid of the Bizango as I do not have the space for N+1!I don’t mind upgrading the parts as they break but I would like something that will last and look after me.

I am 6ft 2 with an inseam of 32″ I think I am a large size in the majority.

My list so far is:

Giant Trance

Vodoo Zobop

Boardman Pro

Bossnut V2

Whyte G160

Kona Precept

I do very much like the Whyte but am concerned that it is a bit overkill for me.

I would appreciate your help.

Thank you Sam

Kryton57

If you have a look on the Edinburgh site you linked to for the Whyte, theres a T130 also on sale.

If you like Whytes – that.

andreasrhoen
    Free Member

Voodoo Zobop, to me: strange spec. Details and parts which I wouldn’t like to have. Based on the spec: don’t recommend.

Boardman FS Pro: in January sales right now. £1,350
    This is – for a bike with an PIKE fork an extremely good price.
    (Crazy good deal…)

Bossnut V2: have this bike. Love the ride. Pre-assembly wasn’t great – but I do all bike repair by myself – means that wasn’t an issue for me.
    Have a collection of old hardtails and update these as well. But the Bossnut impresses me everytime I ride it.
    Interesting thread, maybe: