Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Need help to compare beginner MTB – diamondback apex and response
  • angiesftpe
    Free Member

Hi,

I am a beginner of mountain bike. My first bike is a diamondback response 29er. I rode it with on single tracks and practice my skill. The bike is more on a heavy side however it’s my first entry-level bike. I was planning to train myself for at least 1-2 year and swtich to a better bike — however, my bike got stolen last week. and I only rode it for half year. well…. so sad.

Back to the topic, rightnow I have to choose another new bike for me. Unfortunately I am not ready for a better bike. I still tend to choose a entry-level bike but I hope it will be slightly better than what I have before. (really don’t want to spent twice amount of money for the same bike.).

I went to performance bike and found they have an exclusive model called Apex.
    I am choosing between Apex Trail (cehaper) and Apex Elite(250USD more)
    I need your help to compare the two bike spec and let me know which one is more worth to get.
    They are all 29er. I have no idea if the apex trail ‘s spec is better or worse than my original diamondbacl response model. I would be highly appreciated if you can helpm

1. My original bike – Diamondback Response
    F. Derailleur Shimano TX50 dual pull, Top swing, 34.9
    R. Derailleur Shimano Altus 7spd
    Shifter Shimano EF-51 Easyfire 7spd
    Brake Levers Shimano integrated lever
    Brakes Tektro IO Plus Mechanical Disc Brake w/ 160mm Rotors
    Cassette Shimano HG20 7spd Cassette (12-28t)
    Rims 32h Diamondback SL-7 Doublewall
    Tires WTB Wolverine Comp 29×2.2
    Pedals DB Toe Clip Compatible Platform
    Handlebar Steel Riser
    Stem Diamondback 4 bolt Ahead 7° 31.8mm
    Seatpost DB SL309p Alloy Micro Adjust 30.9mm
    Seat DB low profile All Moutain saddle
    Headset Zero Stack Ahead 1 1/8″
    Colors Black/White
    Chain KMC-Z51