Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • Music training
  • SaxonRider

In the wake of unfitgeezr’s thread about singing and dancing, who out there has formal music training? On what instruments and to what level?

Me:

Grade 5 Theory
    Grade 6 Piano Accordion
    Grade 8 Flute

Also:

Played baritone saxophone in a jazz stage band for 3 years and alto for 3 years before that

and

Sang in choirs (tenor)

Finally, had a year of lessons on guitar

seosamh77
    Free Member

Did a year of classical guitar, went for a few exams when I was about 15 or so, got grade 4 then, being young and stupid, chucked it.

Just self taught ever since, but it gave me a decent grounding.

slowoldman

Didn’t study music at school or learn to play anything. Once an adult took (old style GCE) music at night school and dabbled with various things over the next few years.
    Viola
    Singing (choral)
    Classical Guitar.

Eventually plucked up courage to seriously learn to play oboe (which is what I really wanted to do all along but dismissed as too hard, too expensive).
    Reached Grade 8 last year.

martinhutch

Grade 5 Piano. Couldn’t be bothered with theory so it ended there. Now helping daughter study for Grade 5 Theory so the bastards got me in the end.

Also grade 2 Cello, but we’ll gloss over that.

SaxonRider

Reached Grade 8 last year.

That is genuinely very cool. Well done!

slowoldman

Well I eventually realised you just have to keep putting the hours in!!

plumber
    Free Member

Grade 3 electric guitar

completely superfluous for what I do but the theory really helps nailing songs in 15 minutes rather than a year.

GolfChick
    Free Member

Music Degree from Leeds College of Music
    Grade 5 theory
    Grade 8 alto saxophone
    Grade 8 Tenor Horn
    Grade 6 Piano
    Grade I think 5 Violin