Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Moving from Mechanical Engineering to Product Design/R&D?
  • Duane…
    Free Member

Hi all,

I studied Mechanical Engineering at uni, and have just started an Engineering graduate scheme at a large engineering company.

I would, at some point, like to make a move to more of a product design type role, not entirely sure in what industry, or doing exactly what, but would like to have a larger influence over the end product, have input through more of the requirements-concept-development-testing process, and be vaguely creative and innovative.

Question here is really how do I go about getting into that place, both with regards to what jobs/companies to look into, and what skills I will need to get there

On my uni course we did very little real design/creative work – we did a couple CAD modules (SolidEdge), bit of technical drawing, but no real conceptual design work, sketching, surfacing etc etc.

I’m trying to do more drawing when I have a bit of time, just fast and rough sketching as it’s something I know I’m not very strong at.

Had a very quick look at some product design jobs, and they required experience in using various CAD/surfacing/design software, which I essentially don’t have, and will struggle to pick up in my spare time.

I’m therefore guessing that the best route may be to move to a more industrial/mechanical design role, where my mech eng knowledge will be useful, and then try to move over to more design related roles as I learn on the job.

Has anyone done anything similar, or know about relevant industries? Any thoughts, input, advice etc would be much appreciated!

Thanks,
    Duane.

nickjb
    Free Member

I did a pure engineering degree then moved to design. I did a design course at college that was specifically for graduate engineers. Steered me in the right direction. I went straight to college after leaving uni but the people who did a year or 3 in work generally did better on the course.