Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 49 total)
  • Motorbike touring
  • tree-magnet
    Free Member

I know there’s a few people on here with motorbikes, so thought I’d try and gleen some tips from the stw hive mind.

I’ve booked a ferry from Plymouth to Santander in mid October, and then a ferry from Cherbourg to Poole 5 days later. Other than that, I have no idea what I’m doing!! I’ve been riding for 5 years and own an Aprilia Shiver. My basic plan was to stuff 5 t-shirts, sock and pants in a bag and head out with the idea of riding through the Pyrenees to Milau (obligitary viaduct shot) then join the route des grandes alpes, before heading from Geneva to Cherbourg.

Thing is, google maps is quoting 50 hours, so I think this might be a little long. Has anyone got any tips for a first time tourer? I’ve sorted ferry, insurance and breakdown cover. Planning to find B&B’s/hotels each night depending how far I get…

Thanks in advance!

Watty

I’ve just ridden pretty much that route, but as it was our main holiday we spent 3.5 weeks doing it and had some long stops along the way. Drop me an email (in profile) with any specific questions, but number one priority for me has always been getting the bike spot on – tyres and brakes especially.
    Watty

Dickyboy

Went Caen – Mliau – Caen a few years back, as they say it was more about the journey rather than destination 😉 10hrs per day does seem quite a lot but being on your tod you should make good time – depends on mileage & type of roads you are on i guess? Touring type roads (ie not mways) I recon 300miles per day but then I do ride a guzzi & have to allow er cough “maintenance time” cough

fasthaggis

I always carry one of these ,just in case .

weeksy

For me, i wouldn’t do 300 miles a day, it’s going to spoil the actual viewing of the scenery and enjoying the fun.

rickmeister

Top tip,
    Start early and finish at 4 pm every day, its supposed to be fun !