Viewing 19 posts - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)
  • MOT Failure – Not sure if they are pulling a fast one? Mondeo
  • FunkyDunc
    Free Member

My Mondeo 2.0 TDCI has failed its MOT because “exhaust gasses are leaking from the flexible hose join between the engine and exhaust”

Now I thought they were bolted together, but then I am no expert on Mondeo’s…

Also they are saying the “left rear wheel bearing is running stiff and therefore needs replacing”. Again there has been no noise or anything to suggest this.

The bearing will be a simple test as far as I am concerned, just jack the car up and see if the left wheel runs stiffer than the right, or wobbles?

Any advice gratefully appreciated.

Ta

molgrips
    Free Member

exhaust gasses are leaking from the flexible hose join between the engine and exhaust

There are several hoses there.

1) Exhaust – fixed mostly

2) CV hose aka crankcase ventilation – flexible, rubber, and entirely reasonable thing to have perished and leak, seen it on several cars. When combustion occurs, some of the exhaust gasses sneak past the piston rings into the crank case. This hose just vents the crankcase back into the air intake so the oily grungy crud can be burned.

3) EGR hose – rigid but maybe with a flexible bit in it. Redirects some exhaust back into the intake to reduce combustion temperature and therefore NOx emissions.

Re the wheel bearing – never had one run stuff, but they can be very subtle and hard to detect when they go. Best thing to do is as you say jack up the wheels and spin. If it’s a rear, it’s easy, they should spin totally smoothly. If there’s even a tiny sensation of rumble they’re gone. If it’s stiff, well, you should be able to tell.

wysiwyg
    Free Member

Surely they mean its leaking from the flexi, which eventually snap.

patriotpro
    Free Member

Never heard of a bearing running ‘stiff’.

It’s not en expensive thing to replace tho – £100 tops.

Try eurocarparts.co.uk as a guide on part-prices.

Aristotle