Viewing 21 posts - 1 through 21 (of 21 total)
  • Morzine :) – Tips needed
  • eightyeight
    Free Member

After dropping enough hints my mate has finally secured a week off his parent this summer in Morzine. I’ve never done an Alps biking holiday before, so I was hoping for some tips and suggestions on the below:

1) After much bone breakage over the last few years I want to have a good time, but not go nuts. I assume there’s plenty of variety, but if anyone has a specific suggestions for fast-ish, techy-ish trails without gap jumps or huge drops they’d be gratefully received (my frame of reference here is UK riding which might be wildly off, but I’m thinking ‘hard red’)

2) Bike. I have a 4 year old boardman FS which I love and a on-one 29-er. TBH I can’t really be doing with the hassle of transporting either of them out there. Should I rent? Or perhaps pick something up off PinkBike (though run the risk it could be an absolute shower)

3) We’re going with out respective wives. Both of whom do not ride but love the outdoors. Any suggestions on a mega sedate (no uphill pedalling) trail to introduce them to the wonders of cycling? I have something of a history of being not being a sensible judge of these sorts of things…

Thanks in advance 🙂

thegman67

This will be my fifth time in Morzine this year with the guys and girl and their is a mixed bag of bikes going,2 Boardman fs 26r and 650b. They are trails all over the area for every kind of riding. You don’t need to hire a bike as my mate done most of the drops we did on his 26 Boardman.
    My email is in my profile if you want any more info or a chat over the phone

ade9933
    Free Member

Hi,

We stayed in Les Gets last year (family holiday).

The green runs in the semi-wet had pretty steep bits for people who don’t like MTBs.

For the Mrs the best bike trip was along the side of the river on the valley base. Picnic sedate / scenic etc. towards Samoens. Lac Montriond also supposed to be good.