Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • Morzine advice for an intermediate/first timer
  • KateD
    Free Member

Hi, me and the other half are looking to go over to Morzine in July for a weeks riding but I need a bit of advice as to which area to be based in. I’ve been riding for a few years and have ridden red routes at Coed y Brenin, afan, cwmcarn etc but still don’t feel 100% happy on black routes (can be a bit too technical and steep) and am really easily intimidated when the trails are busy. Are there any areas of Morzine that are a bit more laid back than others? I’m a bit worried that it’ll be all steep techy trails and groups of men in full body armour cutting me up!

Thanks for any help!

ChrisI

Look forward to hearing the responses. My other half is the same and we are off to Morzine to do PdS and some other riding soon.

I’ve seen vids and read threads on Les Gets having green and blue runs, that would likely be a good start. Theres a few vids on youtube that show they are fairly tame, not anywhere near as steep, and look much like fireroad. I guess once you get the hang of them then working up to the harder routes is just a case of giving them a go.

unklehomered
    Free Member

First off, take many spares, get a facer (if only so you can wear it and be rad, they are fun), Next off, ride within your limits, explore, and have fun. The blues and greend are AWESOME, and often less bumped and rutted. The Green from the non-chevannes side of Let Get is just rooty bliss, also the trail at les Linderats are more natural, less berms and table tops.

What will shock is the relentless gradient, do some arm and leg exercises before you go… I prepped last year by find a rought and rocky descent and riding it on the HT 3 times a week for a month, great calf workout.

jambalaya
    Free Member

Morzine is possibly the epi-centre of Brits in full body armour, that being said they are mostly focused on a few popular runs/areas.