Viewing 30 posts - 1 through 30 (of 30 total)
  • Modern geometry/old fashioned geometry
  • iolo
    Free Member

Could someone please explain to me why modern geometry is “better ” than old geometry?
    I’ve been riding for over 25 years (mostly in Coed y Brenin ) and enjoyed most of the bikes I’ve had.
    Why is modern geometry so amazing? Emperors new clothes?

Bregante

It isn’t necessarily.

It’s all marketing. People want the latest shiny.

brant
    Free Member

As people started riding clunker bikes uphill rather than just downhill, seat angles steepened to get riders in a better power position. For fast handling on smooth race circuits, angles steepened. Suspension forks came along as frames we modified to give the same handling as those rigid bikes but with springs at the front.

As forks got longer (Judy DH forks used to be just over 70mm travel remember), geometry had to adopt the the greater range of movement throughout the stroke.

Rear suspension caused some seat angles to steepen so the rear wheel wouldn’t bang into the seatpost.

Head angles slackened as forks became longer and speeds became faster.

Wheelbases lengthened as top tubes/reach extended to allow faster (yet slower) steering with shorter stems.

BB’s dropped as people realised it didn’t matter how high you made them, you’d always bump them on something, and lower bikes were easier to get on and off.

And lo, the trails became more alive.

Rorschach
    Free Member

Wot he said…..only sarcastically.

deanfbm
    Free Member

The main one would be old geometry relies on a long stem in order for the bike to “fit”, this is a hangover from road bikes, MTBs aren’t road bikes, they shouldn’t be treated as such.

MTBs have to deal with rough ground, turns, obstacles, jumps, a combination of all just mentioned, road bikes don’t. In order to deal with this, your weight should ideally be central in the bike and you want to build in stability so the rider doesn’t just get instantly ejected.