Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Mini Maglite LED upgrade…?
  • rkk01
    Free Member

Quite attached to my old AA mini maglite, but the light output and battery life are very last century…

I’ve googled LED upgrades, and see a few £10-20 upgrades – just wondered if anyone had dabbled and what the results are like

Cheers !

CountZero

I got an LED upgrade to a three-cell Maglite, and was not impressed. For ten-twenty quid, you can get much smaller lights, that put out a lot more light. I’ve got three of these: http://dx.com/p/trustfire-r5-a3-cree-xp-e-r5-3-mode-230-lumen-memory-led-flashlight-1-aa-1-14500-39062?utm_source=dx&utm_medium=edm&utm_campaign=20120912
    Amazing little light, works really well on a Twofish lock-block mounted on bars or helmet as a commute light, or evening ride light. I’ve been using mine for several years now, and they’ve never let me down.

chudsy
    Free Member

For a bit more than the price of the upgrade kit you can get a much better torch. I went for an Olight S15 baton from Amazon, lots brighter than same size Maglite.

ohnohesback
    Free Member

The upgrades are pants. Maglite allowed themselves to be left behind in the LED revolution. Even an upcoming Lidl £7.99 special torch will spank a maglite.

rkk01
    Free Member

Hmmm. I’ve got a more modern, cheap, bright LED torch….

(It’s buried and unused in a car door pocket IIRC)

… But the maglite is a nice chunky bit of metal and I’ve had it for ages. Like an old bike, it’s a little bit of niceness, in need of something to freshen it up 😉

hot_fiat

Got three terralux upgrades from the torch site in my AA and AAA Maglites. They absolutely transform the torches. Beam remains focusable, you get a much better light output and the increased battery life. Definite worth the cash ime.

failedengineer