Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Michelin Wild Rock'R
  • dodge1302
    Free Member

Has anyone got any experience with the Michelin Wild Rock’R tyres?

I was advised by my LBS that they’re really good – needed a tyre for muddy/rocky terrain and the Michelin Wild Race’R tyres on my new Anthem X were clearly designed for dry weather racing (at a guess).

I was a bit concerned after reading a fairly bad review on Bike Radar…didn’t put my mind at rest!

I’m pretty new to the MTB scene, so any advice would be gratefully received…

🙂

gee
    Free Member

It looks exactly the same tread pattern as the old All Terrain XT or somesuch – On one were knocking them out for a tenner a while back. Those are good in mud, not so good on rocks – something larger would have been better.

GB

dodge1302
    Free Member

Thanks gee! I’m thinking of heading over to Cwmcarn tomorrow so perhaps I’ll get an idea then! I guess I’m worried that they’ll be really, really bad!

gee
    Free Member

If you want a good tyre for rocky areas – go bigger – 2.25? Look at on-one as they have some cheap Schwalbe tyres at the moment – just make sure you buy the snakeskin sidewall ones as they’re loads more durable.

GB

ben1979
    Free Member

I had some Wild Rock’r Advanced 2.2″ when they first came out. I had used Mountain X’Trems before which i loved

Compared to the old ones they were tiny (the old ones were huge for 2.2″ though) They also seemed harder compound so didn’t give great grip on roots or wet rock, they didn’t feel too confidence inspiring. They didn’t seem to roll that well, although better than Advantages i had before

It was a shame as the old ones were so good but not made any more

I sold them

mc
    Free Member

They’re ok.