Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Mechanic's; fitting this towbar – how easy?
  • br
    Free Member

http://www.pct.eu.com/automotive/Fitting%20Instructions/pdf/JG4251.pdf

I’m reasonably competent and have the tools, but is there anything that’s going to catch me out – and without a ramp. Suitable for a home fit?

tthew

Not too hard. I’m no mechanic but I installed one my self a couple of years ago, and the electric relay kit too. The most difficult bit was getting the bumper off and on. There tend to be a lot of screws and clips, some quite well hidden.

br
    Free Member

Thanks, but did the electrics just ‘plug in’, or need some additional work?

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middling Edition

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middlin...
    Latest Singletrack Videos
    thekingisdead
    Free Member

Mine used scotch locks, v easy.

It messes with the ecu on some modern cars tho, I think

mav12
    Free Member

Not to hard really best if you can leave the bumper on as others have said have alook on ebay as well i got my last one for a fiver collected

br
    Free Member

The ebay supplier has been good in sending the instructions (before I buy), the mechanical side looks pretty easy but the electrics…

I quote:

Great care should be taken if the sockets are wired into a vehicle having multiplexed circuitry, and no attempt should be made to interup or interfere with the BUS, the ESU’s or the power cable of the multiplexed system.

And then a load more instructions including ‘ifs’ and ‘buts’…

Think I might avoid the DIY route as the car itself has everything electric (Jaguar), so probably a step-to-far for me.

bruneep

I used a Plug N Play kit from one of the towbar companies, no idea what car you have but for example easy peasy to do.

wwaswas

unless it’s just plug and play (which a lot of multiplexed systems are set up for) and you get a specific kit I’d avoid diy, personlly.

also see if you’d need to cut any bodywork.

stuarty
    Free Member