Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Making jam – advice please.
  • muddydwarf
    Free Member

I noticed yesterday that there are HUGE amounts of raspberries growing along the canal, i'm just off out to collect as many as possible!

I'm thinking of making jam with some so does anyone have any tips seeing as i've never done it before.

Do i need to add water to the fruit or just mash 'em & boil 'em before adding the preserving sugar?

P.S. – what the hell is preserving sugar??????

cxi
    Free Member

I would guess that preserving sugar is sugar with added pectin. I was going to say it's also called jam sugar but SilverSpoon list both jam and preserving sugar:

http://www.silverspoon.co.uk/home/products/sugar-and-syrups-for-cooking/preserving-sugar

Without being at home to look at a book, I couldn't tell you what quantities of fruit / water / sugar to use.

tinker-belle
    Free Member

Super quick and easy recipe

Makes: 3 x 200ml jars
    Ingredients
    450g raspberries
    450g granulated sugar

Method
    1.Preheat the oven to 170°C, gas mark 3. To sterilise the jars, place 3 thoroughly clean 200ml jars on their sides in the oven for 10 minutes. Then turn off the oven, leaving the jars inside until the jam is ready to pot. Place 2-3 saucers in the freezer to chill.
    2.Rinse the raspberries. Place in a pan and cook over a gentle heat for 2-3 minutes until the juices are just beginning to run.
    3.Add the sugar and stir over a gentle heat for 1-2 minutes until the sugar has dissolved. Then increase the heat and bring to a vigorous boil for 5-10 minutes.