Viewing 19 posts - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)
  • Magura vs Hope
  • ratherbeintobago

Need new brakes for the new build and am keen to go with something that might allow a Rohloff build in the future. So, Hope Tech 3’s or Magura MT6’s?

suburbanreuben
    Free Member

Magura MT6 have had problems and been subject to a recall. I’m not sure if they’ve fixed them.

ratherbeintobago

Magura MT6 have had problems and been subject to a recall. I’m not sure if they’ve fixed them.

I’d seen the odd thread about there being problems, and there was the recall. I was wondering how common these were and whether newer brakes were any better.

wwaswas

I’ve been running Magura brakes for the last 5 years, Marta, Louise and MT4/MTS.

I’ve never had any issues beyond the odd bleed when shortening hoses. Pad life has always been good and I like the feel of them.

The MT4/MTS have a firm lever feel but modulation is good. The standard rotors seem fine but I’ve used them with Venti-Disk as well with no problems.

I’ve not used Hope so can’t do a comparison.

vondally
    Free Member

used magura Louise FR/BATs and martas, most are still going strong…….got some MT4 and disappointed is not the word, not a patch on the older ones,

Moved to hope and happy so far.

slackman99
    Free Member

Have to agree with Von. Had Louise brakes on 2 past bikes and they were awesome. Single finer power in spades but with modulation. Had some mt4s more recently and not nearly as nice or powerful. I’m not a fan of the composite master cylinder, feels a bit flexy and never seemed to have much power.

Now moved to deores on both bikes. Not flash but they work as well as any brakes I’ve owned with loads of power. Probably the best value but of kit I’ve bought.

Not had hopes in a long time. Think original mini was the last time.

MrH
    Free Member