Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • Low stack height
  • wrecker
    Free Member

So I’m just about to push a button on a new bike. I’ve looked at the geo (they are seriously long bikes) and the medium looks fine for me.
    My only concern is around the stack height, which looks seriously low. I’m no geometry expert but this looks like it would make the bars potentially very low, but how would it translate on the trail?

It’s making me question the size and maybe try and track down a large.

tinribz
    Free Member

Sounds like a test ride would be advisable.

legend
    Free Member

Buy the medium and lift the bars if you don’t like the front end height? Having them low should help it corner like a beast, might not feel so great when things get steep though

davidtaylforth
    Free Member

Depends how you like your bikes to ride. I personally hated super low front ends and flat bars, so I used to use 50mm risers (I’ve got some spare if you want them?). I found low front ends were harder to bunnyhop/manual/jump etc. which was the main reason I rode! although I was used to a BMX with 9 inch rise bars, so that could be why.

honourablegeorge

You’re worried that the bars are too far from you, so you want a large, to make them even further away? 🙂

Personally, Id take the low front end, and raise it with bars/stem/spacers if needed.

wrecker
    Free Member

It’s height, not distance george.

zero-cool
    Free Member

Stem spacers and riser bars if necessary

honourablegeorge

wrecker – Member
    It’s height, not distance george.

Yeah, but the two are very closely related.

For me, lower gives you more flexibility, so would choose that every time – although a complete bike might not give you the steerer length to play with, so it’d have to be risers,

wrecker
    Free Member

Yeah, but the two are very closely related.

Of course, but both result in different body positions.

wrecker
    Free Member

Sounds like a test ride would be advisable.