Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 67 total)
  • Looking for some advice on a new MTB
  • frozenwhite
    Free Member

I do a fair bit of road cycling but looking to get a MTB. I know there is a lot of suggestions not to buy a full sus for under £1K but I feel if I get a hard tail I will end up wanting a full sus pretty quickly. The spec on this one actually seems ok even though it’s sub £1k. What do you all think bearing in mind I am just starting out? Cheers

https://www.decathlon.co.uk/rockrider-560s-full-suspension-mountain-bike-275-id_8379043.html

richmtb

For £700 it looks pretty good – shit tyres for the UK mind you.

Have a look at the Calibre Bossnut from Go Outdoors or any of the Boardman range from Halfords, all are brilliant value

P-Jay
    Free Member

Does look okay for the very low price (for a FS Bike) a bit worried you’re meant to keep it in a ‘cool, dark place away from Sea Air’ I wonder what’s so rust prone on it.

Bars are very narrow, but that’s perhaps not a bad thing.

Personally though, I’d be looking at the 3 ‘go to’ entry level FS bikes, the Bossnut and the Broadman and Norcos I forget the name of, they cost a bit more, but I think they’re worth it.

The Bossnut V2 looks like the perfect starter FS bike, it works well out of the box and I think the frame is worthy of upgrading as/when you want to.

frozenwhite
    Free Member

Cheers Rich. I’m not too concerned about the tyres as they can easily be upgraded. Is there a massive difference between that one and this for the extra £200?

http://www.halfords.com/cycling/bikes/mountain-bikes/boardman-mountain-bike-team-full-suspension-27-5-16-18-19-20-frames

jekkyl

this looks better. for £900
    http://www.gooutdoors.co.uk/calibre-bossnut-full-sus-mountain-bike-p347143

or this http://www.gooutdoors.co.uk/calibre-bossnut-v2-mountain-bike-p403001 for a grand

shimano brakes Vs Btwin
    shimano hubs+wtb rims vs Aero Trail Evo wheels (?!)

cinnamon_girl