Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Looking for new full suss bike – are all new bikes long, low and slack?
  • johnhe

My much loved Blur Classic probably can’t live forever. I may finally be in a position to buy a replacement. I have two main bikes which I consider just about perfect from a geometry point of view – my Blur and my BFe. I run 150mm Revs with both bikes and am extremely happy with the feel of either bike. I would guess that both bikes have something like 67 degree head angles – I have a 1 degree angle set on the Blur.

I’ve never spent much time on any of the new breed of bikes – but everything is advertised as long, low and slack nowadays. What I love about both my bikes is the ease with which the front end pops up to wheelie over stuff. Both feel very playful in character. Very “flickable” in tight singletrack.

The bikes I’m looking at are the Aeris, the Cotic Flare and the new Santa Cruz 5010. Is all the talk of the new geometry much ado about nothing, or is there a possibility that I might be genuinely disappointed if I buy one of these bikes without a test rise (probably impossible in Belfast).

honourablegeorge

Lots of bikes are advertises as “long low and slack” but are often just half a degree slacker or 5mm longer than the previous year’s version. It’s all relative.

At the same time, thinkgs like steeper seat angles have to be taken into account – lookign at the front end of the bike in isolation really won’t tell you the whole story. Short chainstays probably have as much to do with ease of popping the front wheel as anything else, and most manufacturers are pushing in that direction.

mikewsmith
    Free Member

Go ride some…..

It’s the entire package you are buying not angles 😉