Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Long shot but are there any boiler experts on here?
  • Lakes_Puma

If anyone can and is willing to help it would be much appreciated.

I’m really just trying to understand what has happened to my boiler.

I have a Potterton Suprima boiler which I know are notorious for being unreliable.

A couple of years after it was installed it started to play up, intermittently then more often and eventually I called out a plumber who change the PCB and that resolved the issue.

I had been running fine for several years.

I installed a smart room thermostat the other day and followed the installation guide to the letter everything was working fine, the boiler was firing up and the house temp was fully controlled by the thermostat.

As per the thermostat instructions the heating was set to always on and I was able to monitor the house temp from my phone, all good, then tonight when I go home I noticed the radiators were not on, the CH pump was running.

I checked the boiler and it wasn’t running and he status LED was constant red, no amount of power off or resetting has brought the boiler to life.

Now I think after lots of searching it may be the PCB again, but my question what caused it to go now?

If I had wired up the thermostat incorrectly surely it wouldn’t have worked fine for 20 hours, right?

rwamartin
    Free Member

The obvious course of action would be to take the stat. out of the equation and seeing if the boiler runs. However, I wouldn’t think you’d get a red status LED (I assume this means “fault”) if it was a stat. issue – it would just either run constantly or not at all depending on whether or not it failed in the “call for heat” setting.

Is there a lockout on the boiler with a reset button somewhere (my experience is all oil)? Sometimes ours locks out if it fails to fire, though I think a power off/on will reset it.

Sorry I can’t be more helpful.

Rich.

Lakes_Puma