Viewing 22 posts - 1 through 22 (of 22 total)
  • Long Distance Multi-Days on 160mm AM bike?
  • chrisps
    Free Member

I am going to be doing the “traditional” MTB coast to coast next year over 5 days. I have never done long distance multi-days before. Normally I do a max of 2 or 3 days biking in a row. At the minute, my only bike is Kona Cadabra (160mm which can be sort of restricted to 90mm). I was planning on doing it on the Kona, however have just looked at the route and realised that it is going to be quite long with a lot of climbing each day!

For a while I have been thinking of buying a 29er hard tail as a second ride for when I want to do some fast XC / races. Probably something like a Canyon Grand Canyon 29er (which has some give in the seat stays to make it a little less harsh).

My problem is that my lower back isn’t exactly great at the best of times (largely hereditary) and I am concerned that my back probably isnt going to like me doing the C2C on a hardtail! However, on the flip side, if I have to put tonnes of effort into the uphills on an AM bike, it probably wont like that either

Sooo, two questions:

1) Anyone else that suffers from a bad back done a lot of long distance riding on a hardtail?

2) Anyone done anything like the C2C on an 160mm AM rig before? Is it going to kill me?!

The money-no-object answer, I feel, is a short travel full sus, but that would put an end to my plans of getting a hard tail :(.

Thanks in advance!

Chris

Russell96

I did a four day coast to coast with about 10,000m of climbing on a Cotic Hemlock, just put a Crossmark on the back for lower rolling resistance and apart from one bad afternoon on Day3 did it all OK.

http://www.theedgecycleworks.com/mtbroutes/north-wales-coast-2-coast-day-1/
    http://www.theedgecycleworks.com/mtbroutes/north-wales-coast-2-coast-day-2/
    http://www.theedgecycleworks.com/mtbroutes/north-wales-coast-2-coast-day-3/