Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • London weighting…?
  • loddrik
    Free Member

Got a job interview next week in **** london, SW which isn’t so bad I guess..

Is london weighting still about? Is it something which is added to salary or will it be inclued in the advertised salary?

and I said I’d never live in the bloody south again…!

ourmaninthenorth

Oh dear. And good luck.

It seems to vary from sector to sector. It’s worst in the professions – I’ve been doing my job for 10 years and still don’t earn what a newly qualified in the City earns.

TheBrick
    Free Member

London weighting s more of a public sector thing, so if you’re a teacher e.t.c you may get it but if not it will just effectively be built into the salary.

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middling Edition

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middlin...
    Latest Singletrack Videos
    LHS
    Free Member

What TheBrick said really. If it is a private sector role then compare it to what you are earning now and add a percentage increase you think will cover the cost of living increase.

McHamish
    Free Member

I’ve worked in London for 8 years…never had London weighting applied to my salary.

I used to think that you’d get it if you worked for a company who then moved your job to London, rather than if you applied for a job in London.

But I worked in High Wycombe then moved to London, I didn’t get any extra money….bastids.

loddrik
    Free Member

I am a Planning Officer so would be working in the public sector.

Elfinsafety
    Free Member

and I said I’d never live in the bloody south again…!

Don’t then. Get a job somewhere else. Simples.

loddrik
    Free Member

🙄

Because there are, like, loads of jobs up here, hence why I have, after 18 months, applied down south again.

Believe me I would rather stay up north, but I’m not really call centre material..

5thElefant
    Free Member

Ring them up. Going to an interview without knowing the actual salary is barking.

vinnyeh