Viewing 18 posts - 1 through 18 (of 18 total)
  • Loft Conversion
  • oliwb
    Free Member

So, done a lot of internet searching which has revealed lots of “get a structural engineer answers”…..

I have a 90’s bungalow with a very steep pitched roof (massive attic space). I’d like to convert it to put a couple of extra rooms in. At the moment the roof is a Finks Truss (‘W’ style) construction. I’m not 100% on sizes but at the apex it must be close to 3m high – so plenty of space. I’ve seen the tele-beam things and heard the whole you need to take the roof off and replace it….but, I’m an engineer (mechanical) by trade and can’t understand why it wouldn’t be possible to convert / reinforce the existing structure to add cross ties and make it look like an attic truss style of roof. Surely beefing everything up from 2×4 to 2×6 and adding the cross ties etc is sufficient? Or am I missing something really obvious? If I think about it in terms of metal work the solution seems really simple…..I have a friend who is a structural engineer who could work me up some drawings – but I just want to know if it possible / advisable (if not, why not) before I do that.

The new roof, tele-beam and move house options are too expensive. I would intend on doing the work myself and would stagger the purchase of materials over a few months to make it remotely affordable!

Most of the answers I’ve seen so far consist of:
    – buy a new house
    – get a structural engineer
    – put on a new roof

No body really discusses sistering beams to reinforce them or why it might not be a good idea…..

So, does anybody have any experience?

footflaps

You could get plans from a Structural Engineer for £200-£300 which will get you through Building Regs. Whilst he’s round you can chat through the options etc.

Tracker1972
    Free Member

Have you asked your friend, the structural engineer? Or will he just do what we/STW tell him to do?

wrightyson
    Free Member