Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • Lochinver Mountain Biking
  • ndthornton
    Free Member

I will be staying at Lochinver (or more specifically Inverkirkaig) for a week with the Mrs and her parents. This is where they used to go on Holiday together. they are walkers but I will definitely be taking the bike – not least because they have a tenancy to do my head in after a short period of time.

Will I find good mountain biking there or do I need to go further afield. Find it hard to believe there is not a wealth of big mountain, technical riding in the vicinity – though I have no experience of riding quite this far north.

2tyred

Lucky you, my favourite place in the world!

Spent a glorious week there last summer in some of the best weather I’ve ever had up there.

Have to say, its more of a road destination for me these days (the road from Inverkirkaig out to Achiltibuie and the Nedd/Kylesku loop are out of this world) but there is some good MTB riding up there. Trouble is, the mountains tend to just suddenly rise up from a fairly flat landscape – that’s what makes them look so dramatic – so the vast majority of your riding isn’t as high as you’d possibly expect. Its not Aviemore.

From the door, the climb up to Inverkirkaig falls is good, as is the descent, and the coast paths round Achmelvich are fun. The long path out to Suilven is good on a bike, but not technical. Slightly further afield, Quinag is an adventure, although I know the path has been developed in recent years and its a while since I’ve up that. Just beyond that, the path past the Inchnadamph caves up to Conival and Ben More Assynt is brilliant, though not exactly a flowing ride at times!

One of the best things about Assynt is how quiet it is, meaning you’re not always coming across walkers on hill paths. Definitely a good destination for an Explorer map and a compass!

ferrit
    Free Member

Absolutely beautiful area. Spent many a summer at Achmelvich with my folks. Stunning.