Viewing 21 posts - 1 through 21 (of 21 total)
  • Lets talk cross cantis
  • oldgit
    Free Member

I’ve been running Frogleggs for ages now. No issues with their ability to stop, but there are issues.
    1) to remove the wheel you need to squeeze the pads together to release the straddle wire. Only thing is I can’t squeeze them enough to loosen the wire?
    2) They move in an arc so they point a bit skywards, then curve in and touch the pad.
    3) There’s zero toe in
    4) And they do tend to move about, I have some weirdly worn rims.

What’s better, Shimano?

dobo
    Free Member

i got some older trp cr950, dont think they suffer these issues. but if i were buying again i might try some of their newer models or some mini v

Northwind

For the low price of mini-vs I’d recommend trying it… (IIRC I paid £9 an end plus a little more for v-brake noodles with a barrel adjuster) I’m not a proper cross rider mind, but I found no real downsides and the performance even with standard pads is excellent, better than any canti I’ve used. Mud clearance looks inferior but in practical terms is much the same (the pads and stalks still cause the most clogging, same as cantis, the arms don’t make much difference if any)

Main downside is that you need to fanny around with cable tension to remove a wheel, the clearance isn’t enough to undo the straddle wire. But with an inline barrel adjuster that’s no real bother.

pid
    Free Member

Have been running mini-Vs with travel agents this summer and will be trying them in some central league races this season. Plenty of power and although the travel agent decreases force a bit, it has actually improved control / modulation. I imagine my tubeless setup is going to fail me before the brakes stop working!

oldgit
    Free Member

pid see you in the League.

simondbarnes

TRP EuroX

plus-one

Tektro cr720’s are what you need !!!!

crikey
    Free Member