Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 41 total)
  • Learning how to create a database?
  • TheFlyingOx

I’ll try to keep it brief.

I’m wondering what the best way of learning how to create a database is. Microsoft Access 2010 would be the final “type” of database, if that makes sense – that’s what we have at work, and it’s a little side project for work I’d like to produce. I don’t have access to this at home though, so would be using the LibreOffice equivalent to do any initial building/testing.

My problem is that whilst reasonably au fait with other aspects of IT (I know my way around vBasic, for example, and I’m currently self-learning C++) I have never built a database before. Used them, yes, but that’s the extent of my experience.

For info, I’m not wanting any all-singing, all-dancing behemoth. It’s purely a way of dragging my workplace into the latter half of the 20th century. I want to track equipment which has faults, record any ongoing monitoring of the faults, record any planned maintenance activity, highlight any mitigating activities/risk assessments, record the results of maintenance activity, and then archive the entry once the fault has been rectified.

Back in the day, this was all done on paper. When computers made their way into the workplace, instead of wondering how best to utilise them to improve the tracking of equipment faults, the paper form was copied into an excel sheet and the only benefit of a result is that no pens are needed to fill in the form. Lots of printer ink though, so not exactly an improvement.

tl;dr – what’s the easiest/quickest way to learn how to create a simple database using Access/whatever the LibreOffice equivalent is? Online resources, books, whatever.

Many thanks.

poly
    Free Member