• This topic has 27 replies, 12 voices, and was last updated 9 years ago by cb.
Viewing 28 posts - 1 through 28 (of 28 total)
  • Lead Flashing
  • mattrgee
    Free Member

Having just laid a new slate roof on my outhouse…

Is there a minimum length for the upstand/drop of a lead flashing? The stone work finshes just 3cm above the top slate, will such a small upstand limit the function of the flashing?

Thanks.

tomaso
    Free Member

If it is low down I’d not bother with lead as it just gets pinched. Flash banding is a cheap alternative.

bruneep
    wrightyson
    Free Member

Don’t use flash band its ****!
    Pics? As I’m a thick builder and don’t quite understand where on the roof we are?

mattrgee
    Free Member

I suppose a pic would help:

It’s a single sloping/mono pitched roof.

wrightyson
    Free Member

In reality it should fully cover that stone work and dress down the back of it, then I’m presuming the slate under the ones you’ve used for your top course abut the stone? If that’s the case I’d come 100 mm down those too. So looking at it would a 300mm roll do? If not, next size up is 450 which is gonna cost more obviously.

ffej
    Free Member

Length of flashing down the slates would depend on the pitch of the roof. That looks pretty shallow from the pic, so prob at least 200mm, but integrated with a capping over the top of the wall head as there’s no way you’d be able to cut in to fix a flashing in the vertical section.
    Min of code 4 lead, max 1500mm length between joints would be my guess but it’s years since I knew the lead sheet manual inside out.

Jeff

mattrgee
    Free Member

In reality it should fully cover that stone work and dress down the back of it, then I’m presuming the slate under the ones you’ve used for your top course abut the stone? If that’s the case I’d come 100 mm down those too. So looking at it would a 300mm roll do? If not, next size up is 450 which is gonna cost more obviously.