• This topic has 24 replies, 19 voices, and was last updated 12 years ago by ski.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 25 total)
  • LBS's in the Midlands, help me spend my money
  • lunge

Right then, I have decided to buy a new road bike, I have about £1k to spend and whilst I know I can get a better spec on the internet I want the back up of a shop.

However, I have limited experiences with road bikes and so will understandably not be parting with my cash without at least sitting on a few and in an ideal word getting a test ride. I am 6’4″ and need a big size which is making this a challenge.

So LBS people of the midlands, can you help???? I suspect I need a frame that is 61″ or 63″, certainly the 58″ specialized one I sat on was too small.

Houns

Go to Fred Williams in Wolves. Best shop around for Roadie stuff

imp999
    Free Member

Place up Gosford street in Coventry gets good reports from the roadies I know.
    Cov Cycle Centre.

lunge

Houns, Fred does not have the sizes in and will not get one unless I pay a deposit. I’m not parting with any cash until I have sat on it. A catch-22.

postierich
    Free Member

Try Cycleshack Cannock way they do demos on road bikes!

clunker

Lunge,

Off topic slightly I have a Brian Rourke Road Bike thats hardly been used.

Based Nr Stafford

lunge

Bumped for the morning.

Thanks for the offer clunker but that is not quite what I am looking for.

LMT
    Free Member

RedKite in Shirley, Solihull are pretty good, nice friendly service. Last time i was in there had a good selection of road bikes and as roadies themselves should offer good advice.

MrTall
    Free Member

It’ll always be difficult to find a shop with a 63cm road bike in stock unless you get lucky in Evans or Cycle Surgery in central Brum.

I just sold my 63cm Trek (and replaced it with a 66cm Canyon) which is a pity as i’m Brum based and you could have tried it for size.