Viewing 34 posts - 1 through 34 (of 34 total)
  • Lapierre spicy or orange five?
  • lukehywrd01
    Free Member

Hi I’m new to all this but have decided to purchase a spicy or five. Does anyone with a bit of experience recommend either or? I will be just using it on weekends and the odd trail day thanks for your help

jam-bo

Which one did you like the best when you test rode them?

Rorschach
    Free Member

/\

lukehywrd01
    Free Member

To be honest I will be buying one second hand just on the research I’ve done online I’ve settled on these two. Was just wondering if anyone had a preference to which is the better bike to get

Suggsey
    Free Member

Us Orange Five owners will say Fives, Lapierre owners will say Lapierres!
    Your best way is to try riding one of both if you can find someone to let you!
    Single pivots will feel different to multi pivot but I prefer single pivot full suss for lower maintenance of pivots points although they can suffer from a bit more lateral flex than multi linkage bikes.
    For durability and because I own one I’d say Five.

deviant
    Free Member

Both do the same thing but in different ways. I think the Spicy is slightly slacker HA but fans of Orange will tell you the ‘5’ is bombproof.
    Pick one and enjoy it, suspension on either can be altered massively with coil or air shocks, aftermarket tunes, fork changes etc etc.

chestrockwell

Big Orange 5 fan here, great bikes IMO. What age are you looking at? Makes a big difference.

wiggles
    Free Member

If you want a small I know of a 2014 spicy team (full carbon) frame with custom spec for sale for £2800

lukehywrd01
    Free Member

thanks for the replies. I better get hunting looking forward to getting out there. Like you say everyone has there own opinion I think if I can find a good deal on either of them are be happy. Nice one cheers

dandasbike
    Free Member