Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Knee Pain – medial ligaments
  • willber
    Free Member

Hi

After two long back to back rides last week I had to walk the final few miles due to severe pain on the inside of my right knee – its kind of around the inner side of my knee cap, and where my quad joins my knee. I rested it over night, tried to ride the following day but it was a complete non starter. The pain is only there when I pedal (walking running etc is fine) and is from mountain bike riding. I was using SPD’s, tried flats after day 2 but i think the damage was done.

I suspect I have picked up an overuse type injury of the medial cruciate ligament and am currently resting it. I am no expert, but wonder if the cause is down to a fit or cleat issue. Can anyone recommend someone to go to who would be able to assess my fit and see if there is a problem. I have noticed that when i pedal, my right knee tends to move outwards (away from top tube) at the top of the stroke and suspect this has caused it.

matt1986
    Free Member

Rich at Pedal Precision is really good and he used to be a physical therapist for a pro rugby team as well so I’m sure he’ll be able to give your knee a good look at too.

Pedal Precision @ The National Cycling Centre

flashes
    Free Member

I did mine in 14 weeks ago, clipped in is best, for me, as I was told to keep knee straight, now at physio, now doing excercises to bend knee, sort of sideways. The 2nd doc I saw said “some” cycling was OK so did SSUK a few weekends ago(gently). Mine was caused when my cleat came loose and I compensated for it on a 3 hour MTB ride….
    Go see somone. I wish I had much earlier………..

Blazin-saddles
    Free Member

The OP’s problem sounds very similar to one I have sporadically. Mine personally is caused by overly tight IT bands, hamstrings and glutes, it masquerades as a knee problem but is almost always the former.