Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 70 total)
  • Kitchen fitters/makers – Tell me if I'm way off the mark with a quote
  • kayak23

Hoping someone can help me with this.
    I am a furniture maker by trade, I teach it to be exact, but now and again I do ‘bits and bobs’ on the side.
    I have been asked to do a bigger than normal ‘bob’ and was hoping someone might be able to tell me if I’m on the right lines.

A bloke wants the cabinets making as shown below. He is going to provide all the materials, my job is literally just to make the cabinets.

All the carcasses are to be plywood or mdf, biscuit-jointed together.
    He wants solid timber ‘lay-on’ frames with a pencil moulding and inset frame and panelled doors similar to the style shown below. These will all be painted (by his fitters)

The drawers are to be hung on Blum-style runners and the doors hung on brass butt hinges.

I have access to full machining facilities but can only do this inbetween my full-time daytime job.

So far, I have based my rate on £22.50 an hour and estimated around 41 hours to complete, bringing the cost to about £925.

Obviously that is a big amount of cash, but, it’s a big amount of time and hassle and late evenings.

He has had a presumably high quote from a couple of kitchen companies and this is I assume why he has approached me.

I really don’t normally do work like this, hence the request for help.
    Does that figure sound mental to those in the know?
    Any thoughts?
    Cheers.

PeterPoddy
    Free Member

I know nothing about it mate, but that sounds bloody good value to me! 🙂

kayak23

Bear in mind he is providing materials AND his team are fitting it. I would literally just be charging for making time.

Bregante

What PP said. I’d bite your hands off at that price!

ton

are you happy with the price, and can you do it in your predicted time scale.

if yes and yes, jobs a good un innit… 😀

scuttler