Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • Kinda Boring – What Rims? Tough trail riding and a different…
  • DaveyBoyWonder
    Free Member

…colour to black!

My old Mavics now have seen better days and I think its time for a total rebuild. Planning on getting my hugely reliable Pro2s serviced and built up with new spokes but not sure about rims. Last time I had a pair of wheels built, Mavics were the #1 choice but not so anymore it seems. I also don’t really want black rims – the tart in me says white or yellow.

So, whats out there for about £40 per rim, tough but light enough for general trail riding around rocky areas, not too bothered about tubeless compatibility and available in funky colours?

Cheers
    Dave

gonzy
    Free Member

i’ve been using atomlab dhr’s for the last 9 years (or there abouts) super tough and never had any problems with them. granted they are heavy and are black but atom lab rims in general are super tough even the lightweight ones.
    have a look at the superlite sl rims they make. they come in black, red or gold.

gofasterstripes
    Free Member

NOS D321’s in Ceramic.

Well, I like mine 😉

banks
    Free Member

Anything by Spank

gofasterstripes
    Free Member

Haha! Yes, Spank – was just coming back to say that.

woody2000
    DiscJockey
    Free Member

If you like blue parts, these might look damn nice:

http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/ns-bikes-trailmaster-rim-26-2013/rp-prod87935

If your Pro IIs are blue, then it’s a no-brainer !

cbmotorsport
    Free Member

Stans? I got a pair of white flows on my bike and they’ve been great.

andyrm
    Free Member

Superstar Tactic:

http://superstar.tibolts.co.uk/product_info.php?cPath=49&products_id=802

I raced a whole Enduro season on the more XC based Sentinel rim and it was spot on. The slightly wider, tougher Tactic should be spot on for you I reckon and it’s available in loads of colours.

ChunkyMTB
    Free Member

Pancenti DL31’s

DaveyBoyWonder
    Free Member