• This topic has 13 replies, 13 voices, and was last updated 8 years ago by llama.
Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Kanban and concurrent activities… Anyone?
  • rickon
    Free Member

Hi chaps,

I’m a pretty experience Agile advocate, I’ve been using different Agile approaches and toolkits for about 12 years now.

Ive got a problem where I’m looking to represent a User Story that has more than one person doing multiple things on it at any one time.

So… Technical design and UX design may happen at the same time, or design could be in parallel to analysis.

What I want to capture is what bottle necks are occurring and then unblock them.

But I can’t do that with just a single column for ‘design’ and then another for ‘analysis’.

Anyone know of a good way to deal with this?

Cheers

Ricks

trail_rat
    Free Member

Im torn.

Is this an elaborate nigerian scam advert, a dating site advert or someone looking for ideas on how to build a titanium frame ?

jodafett

It’s how to deal with Broken Bronsons

bensales
    Free Member

I do this with sub-tasks on a user story. The story is the overall requirement,and I’ll have subtasks for analysis, design, graphics, implementation, documentation, test, etc. Each on tied to the acceptance criteria for the story.

Subtasks can then be assigned to different people and have dependencies set up between them to show the bottlenecks and blockers.

I don’t know if you’re using any tooling, but this approach is supported by Jira and by Rational Team Concert.

<edit>

Although if the tasks are sequential I’ll just pass the story on from one person to the next and have it gradually be completed.

tor5
    Free Member

Subtasks as mentioned would be my vote. Also make sure your WIP limits are set appropriately – definitely not more than the number of people in the team – and keep any eye on cycle time and cumulative flow to spot bottlenecks. JIRA is working well for us with kanban.

Nobeerinthefridge
    Free Member