Viewing 22 posts - 1 through 22 (of 22 total)
  • Just noticed a problem with a new bike after the first ride, what now?
  • epo-aholic
    Free Member

Took delivery of a new bike on Wednesday, assembled it and tightened all bolts as you do ready for the first ride next day. Its a 29er with alfine 11 so i’m new to the alfine thingy. Had a quick spin round the block to check saddle height, etc then off to the trails…… bloody hell it was hard going but i’m new to the hub gear and the bike is almost 8lb heavier than my carbon mtb so didn’t think too much into it until today…..

Just gave the bike the once over for a ride and the rear brake was very ‘grabby’ so i investigated further… the rear rotor is seriously bent/warped! Now i didn’t do anything to cause this on my first run out but where do i stand with the bike shop (mail order) as i never noticed this before the bike was used? Advise please….

Thanks in advance 😀

mikey74
    Free Member

Contact the shop, with photos. It’s clearly not fit for purpose. Any decent shop would ship out a new rotor.

fr0sty125
    Free Member

Out of interest is it a Genesis High Latitude Alfine? I would contact them and ask them to replace the new rotor but as it is quite a cheap component if they start dragging their feet I would just buy a decent one.

Nobeerinthefridge
    Free Member

Contact them, but don’t mention the ‘not fit for purpose’ bit. You’ll sound like a bellend.

shortcut

It is not unfit for purpose. It is damaged in transit!

Singlespeed_Shep
    Free Member

Contact them, but don’t mention the ‘not fit for purpose’ bit. You’ll sound like a bellend.

+1

Starting a conversation with “not fit for purpose” puts you at the back of the queue. Especially when damaged. To many people are throwing this claim around without understanding it.

mikey74
    Free Member