• This topic has 31 replies, 18 voices, and was last updated 11 years ago by IHN.
Viewing 32 posts - 1 through 32 (of 32 total)
  • Joining a new biking group…
  • missnotax
    Free Member

Hello 🙂

Ok, I know i’m new to this STW lark but hopefully you guys can reassure me a bit!

I’m joining up with a different mtb group tonight for a ride (long story – met one of the chaps when I sold him an old wheel!) which should be fun but am getting just a teeny bit nervous as I don’t want people to think i’m a weirdo being a girlie turning up by myself joining in with all this….

The riding will be cool and if they turn out to be nutters i’m perfectly happy biking myself and then toodling off home, but i’m used to turning up biking things as part of a couple (not any more 🙁 ) so this is a new one on me. I don’t want anyone to think i’m some sort of desperate singleton-weirdo – I just like biking and talking about bikes to like-minded people.

Anyway, I know it’ll be fine. I’m used to biking with a load of lads anyway, I guess this is just like the ‘deep breath’ before you go into a party by yourself or whatever…. But still, any reassurance would be appreciated!

Cougar

My experience of MTBers is we tend to be an inclusive bunch (and most are considerably fitter / better than I am). Have fun. (-:

Nobby

My experience of MTBers is we tend to be an inclusive bunch

This.

Enjoy yourself.

binners

For all the bravado that is inevitability about to follow, in person we’re all afraid to talk to girls 😉

Oh… apart from Hora. Which is quite worrying actually. Watch your drink in the pub afterwards

missnotax
    Free Member

Yeah, deep down I know it’ll be fine…. It’s that irrational fear that they’ll all race-winning whippets (hopefully not) or laugh at my bike etc!!

Obviously I am bound to come off in some embarassing and unexpected way anyway (it’s the law of riding with new people) – but i’m prepared for that 😉

Cougar