• This topic has 12 replies, 11 voices, and was last updated 10 years ago by mrmo.
Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Job / Work Help
  • pcb
    Free Member

Afternoon,

I have a job that I enjoy and am well respected for, I have been working for the company for 9 months and am quite happy.

I have heard through 3rd parties and staff that the company isn’t in a great financial situation and there are rumors that the IT team will be merged/axed/outsourced etc.

I have been offered another job, at a not for profit company, that offers care for the elderly, so it should be secure. Its on the same money (slightly better benefits) doing the same thing. The new job is 2 miles away and the existing one is 17 miles away from home.

Due to a recent divorce I simply cannot take the risk of not having a job as I have only just got myself back into the black financially.

I have handed in my notice and had a meeting with the HR director about how valued etc I am. I asked the question about outsourcing and he said not a chance. I asked the question about redundancies etc, he said no without saying no.

My question is…… What do I do? I’m genuinely stuck as to what decision to make.

I’m also acutely aware that I’m in a better position than some as I have a job and an offer of a new one.

Any comments gratefully appreciated.

PCB

johndoh
    Free Member

Look after yourself – the new opportunity seems a better proposition all round.

ourmaninthenorth

Good question.

Rumours are only rumours until they come true (or never materialise).

If you’ve handed in your notice, they might be happy to enforce that. They might be happy for you not to go.

Remember, your redundancy rights are zero right now whether you work at the current place or the new one. If, on balance, you feel the new one gives you more security (for the reasons you stated), then that’s the better option. If you feel you have the same where you are, you could stay and make a good fist of it.