Viewing 33 posts - 1 through 33 (of 33 total)
  • Je nais comprende pas
  • MrPottatoHead

Can anyone summarise the French political system for me? How can someone stand down as leader of their party to try and be president? Who then governs?

Northwind

Every time I think I nearly understand French politics something else incomprehensible happens.

Stoner
    Free Member

I think shes just trying to be her own kind of fascist, not her Daddy’s kind.

SaxonRider

It’s ‘Je ne comprends pas’.

Get that right, and the political system becomes as clear as day.

😉

MrPottatoHead

Si, I was never the best at French.

CaptainFlashheart
    Free Member

I studied French politics and history for many years. Three things to know here.

Firstly,

Secondly,
    [video]https://youtu.be/GSeaDQ6sPs0[/video]

Thirdly,

[video]https://youtu.be/EuXdhow3uqQ[/video]

globalti
    Free Member

If you had watched the very excellent Spin (Les hommes dans l’ombre or the men in the shadows) you’d certainly have a better idea of the corrupt machinations of the French political system.

deadkenny
    Free Member

MrPottatoHead – Member 
    Who then governs?

I don’t think they know. They just perform the Gallic Shrug (blatant stereotyping, but hey, it’s the French).

kcal

or as we had it in our school, “je ne dinnae ken pas” 🙂

derek_starship
    Free Member

Surely it’s “je comprends pas” ?? In the non-school?

jambalaya
    Free Member

There are a few French voters here maybe they should take the lead ?