Viewing 22 posts - 1 through 22 (of 22 total)
  • Javascript – which is the best book to start learning from?
  • slowjo
    Free Member

As above really.:)

DaRC_L

It all depends upon your own knowledge and skills i.e. have you done coding or are you an absolute beginner.

Have a look here to see if it helps…
    http://www.w3schools.com/JS/default.asp

simonfbarnes
    Free Member

ISBN : 0596517742

mogrim

Any particular reason you want to learn Javascript? Rather than, say, PHP or a "proper" language like Java?

xiphon
    Free Member

Perhaps he needs it for some front-end web development….

woffle
    Free Member

Any particular reason you want to learn Javascript? Rather than, say, PHP or a "proper" language like Java?

???

If you're doing web dev then chances are javascript is going to pop it's ugly head over the parapet. It's a scripting language rather than a 'programming' one but I'd say that in all likelihood PHP / asp etc are going to go hand-in-hand with javascript…

(Oh and the O'Reilly book above is good. Our junior developers are encourage to work their way through it)

GrahamA
    Free Member

I'd start with this one:

I have a few of books in this series and think they are very good and I like O'Reilly in general. You can download a sample chapter from the website

If you are new to programming I'd also recommend their books on programming, analysis and OOAD

If I could get everyone in our development team to read their book on design patterns I'd be very happy

simonfbarnes
    Free Member

these are different things. Javascript allows you build responsiveness right into HTML pages. Javascript is often looked down on, and many dubious decisions were taken in its design, but it remains powerful and potentially elegant if you take on board Crockford's suggestions

simonfbarnes
    Free Member

I hadn't realised that being bald was a requirement…