Viewing 19 posts - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)
  • ive asked about trials, now what about MX?
  • gavtheoldskater
    Free Member

hmmmm, too much time spent looking at classic mx sites on facebook.

does anyone on here either race or mx or have a bike they play with on practice tracks, is it fun?

for background, i used to race enduro in the late 90s on a modded cr250 and it was an incredibly fun bike.

long since sold my modern bikes but this is something thats been itching. even gone as far as checking out a few local mx races specifically to guage where, on an older bike, i’d sit in the field. i did look at evo but the bikes seem crazy money, nice bikes though.

so now i’m back to looking at cr250, ideally one that i can do a little work on, and wondering about a new toy.

fervouredimage
    Free Member

I do. I’ve been racing MX since I was 6 years old. I race a little less now than I used to but I do run training classes for youngsters at a couple of tracks in the Midlands. The evo scene is huge now and as such evo bikes are becoming expensive and the truth is that even an immaculate example will be a troublesome investment. We’ve forgotten just how much tinkering mx bikes in the 80’s took to just work well. Now you can buy a 450f out the showroom and short of oil and filter changes they will keep ticking over for 50 hours without seeing a spanner or screwdriver. It’s not a coincidence that all you see at evo meetings are blokes trying to put their pristine 89 cr250s back together.

Super evo is starting to creep in now (90s machines) which will become increasingly popular. 90s 2 strokes can be picked up cheap, parts are readily available and frankly 2 strokes during the mid to late 90’s were absolutely fantastic machines with handling that is competitive today. You’ll see plenty of late 90s, early 2000’s machines in modern MX fields which are very competitive with modern 4 strokes and importantly; great fun.