Viewing 30 posts - 1 through 30 (of 30 total)
  • STW Northern Chapter, can I suggest a ride on Sunday?
  • Horse
    Free Member

Thinking of heading to the Lakes this Sunday, weather looks ok, thinking of doing the Borrowdale Bash Plus, the normal route plus a few extras, any takers? Meet at Keswick, free parking by the pool, 10am?
    Any takers?

Horse
    Free Member

What a biffer, I meant “The Northern Chapter”

simonralli2
    Free Member

I’d be potentially interested as I have never done the Borrowdale Bash before but there is a but. I am bit worried about the distance of the “extras” – I tend to ride for around 3 – 4 hours and am neither fast not technical. Oh, and I wouldn’t really fancy it in difficult weather conditions. But apart from that if you could say a bit more about the ride and types of rider you’d like to ride with that would help!

lowey

Sorry Dave… local ride on Sunday… See Gavgas, not sure what he’s up to this weekend.

Horse
    Free Member

Type of rider, anyone really! If you can’t ride it you can walk it. It is quite rocky.
    The extras would be doing the Lonscale Fell loop to start with (maybe) and a cheeky trail which doesn’t add any distance to the route but cuts out a tarmac slog.

Horse
    Free Member

Yeah, was looking for Gavgas, is he the Daddy?

simonralli2
    Free Member

Hi – do you have an idea of how many miles the ride is? Is there a map at all of the route?

Horse
    Free Member

20 miles? But quite a few hills, if we did the extra loop it’d be a 6ish hour ride.

simonralli2
    Free Member

I’d still be up for it – are there any obvious exit points or would I be totally comitted? I’m up for a 6 hour ride as the last killer loop I did was 7 hours (with a pub stop half way round : )

What OS map is this on? I dont mind buying a map if need be. I assume this is on the net somewhere as a route to have a look at?

Horse
    Free Member