Viewing 23 posts - 1 through 23 (of 23 total)
  • Is there an absolute beginner's guide to dynamo hubs etc.?
  • I’m planning on building up a Singular Rooster 29+ for bikepacking.
    I intend to use my existing lights; Exposure 6 pack with 10 hours on medium setting and Exposure joystick with 3 hours on medium setting.
    I’ve already got a triple piggyback, which can extend either of those.
    I will also use a Garmin 800 with about 15 hours battery life, although I suspect that would be less if I use the live mapping and backlight rather than just a speed & distance display.

So, I need to charge the Garmin while I’m riding, without it switching itself off.
    On longer rides I will also need to charge one or both lights.
    Is it possible to charge two, or even three items at once?
    At the moment, I’m only planning weekend trips, so maybe the piggyback for the Joystick with the 6 pack on it’s 24hr Low setting and an external battery for the Garmin would do me.
    I like the idea of knowing that everything is being kept charged while I’m riding though, so what do I need?

scotroutes

I don’t think you’ll be generating enough power to keep everything charged individually. You’d be best looking at some sort of buffer battery.

If you don’t have a buffer battery between the dynamo (plus “regulator”) and the Garmin it’ll keep switching into battery mode. This is, apparently, quite annoying. I’m hoping to fool my Oregon 600 into recharging as I ride (it uses AA’s but has a built-in recharge circuit) and it doesn’t seem to have this same annoying feature.

This whole subject has been done to death on the bearbones forum.

All the threads I’ve found seem to assume some prior knowledge about buffer batteries and regulators and so on.
    I’m coming in to this as a beginner, so I guess I just want someone to do all the thinking for me and just say, “You need this hub, this regulator, this battery etc and it will all work with your lights and GPS”.

scotroutes