Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • IRONMAN EXTREEEEEME !
  • grizzer
    Free Member

A big shout to Dan Martin a teacher who is set to do a round the world tri-athlon by swimming the Atlantic (4 months) cycling Europe,Russia and Siberia during winter,crossing the Bering Straits then running across Canada…few give that man a cigar…

headfirst
    Free Member

As a teacher my thoughts are:

'anything to put off that marking,eh?"

geoffj

He was on BBC Breakfast yesterday. 4 months to swim the Atlantic 😯

cynic-al
    Free Member

He's gonna prune really badly.

Haze

Teachers get far too much time off.

Edukator
    Free Member

He claims that the swim is 3600 miles or 5760km. He says he'll swim 8 hours a day and the experience of other open water swimmers says that even if he's the best in the world he will do less than 4km/h. That makes 180 days at 32km/day. He says he'll do it just by greasing up with no wetsuit. Channel swimmmers suffer with the cold and they generally go when the water is over 15°C. He optimistically claims he will be in water down to 8°C.

I don't know what he teaches but he has so far failed maths, geography and biology.

He also claims he'll raise a cool £1m.

Fraudster.

cynic-al
    Free Member

"Fraudster"? Bit far…

Edukator
    Free Member

Not far enough: con man. Do some research on open water swimming.

geoffj

I don't know what he teaches but he has so far failed maths, geography and biology.

He's not a proper teacher he's a TEFL teacher.

geoffj

Channel swimmmers suffer with the cold and they generally go when the water is over 15°C. He optimistically claims he will be in water down to 8°C.

To be fair, he may not be greasing up externally, but I reckon he has the insulation taken care of for the start at least!

convert