Viewing 34 posts - 1 through 34 (of 34 total)
  • iphone 3GS help….
  • unfitgeezer
    Free Member

The other-half (had) has an HTC wildfire up until yesterday when a cup of tea suddenly decided to pour itself over the phone…doing all sort of odd things now but we managed to get all the data off that we needed.

Friend has an Iphone 3gs 32gb that he said we can have for £120

I have an Iphone 4 how much slower is the 3gs ? I know it doesn’t have a flash for the camera…is it any better than the HTC wildfre S ?

If we buy it are apple going to make it unupdatable in a few months oor is it just old tech ?

Any help much appreciated

sharkbait
    Free Member

Friend has an Iphone 3gs 32gb that he said we can have for £120

It had better be in very good condition

If we buy it are apple going to make it unupdatable in a few months oor is it just old tech ?

It will be sooner or later but who knows when.
    I’ve been using a 3GS for about 3 years and it’s absolutely fine. Apple have been good with the updates and there’s not much that a 3GS can’t do that a 4 can. Arguably the 3GS was better made than the 4 – I’ve read quite a bit about the power button stopping working on the 4.

Jamie
    Free Member

If they are a friend, they should let you have it for £80.

Rio

Does the speed really matter? 3GS is fine for phone calls, email, GPS tracking, Angry Birds, browsing STW etc so I guess it depends what you want to do with it. Currently it’s still supported by Apple so not sure that the ability to update is really an issue any more than any other phone. On the other hand £120 seems a bit steep to me – a friend of mine was recently given a broken one for free, £10 worth of new screen from the bay and a similar amount on a new switch and it was going fine.

zilog6128

If we buy it are apple going to make it unupdatable in a few months