Viewing 24 posts - 1 through 24 (of 24 total)
  • iPad web development without LAN access
  • sl2000

I’m a developer at a business software company. We need to include iPads in our list of supported web clients. We’re not allowed to enable access from the Internet to our development servers; and we can’t set up WiFi. As far as I can see there’s no way to enable wired LAN access on an iPad. This will make it difficult to test stuff.

Anyone been in a similar position and have any tips? There’s not a huge budget for this – I can get an iPad but (probably) can’t stretch to a Mac.

chvck
    Free Member

I haven’t been in this position but I’ve developed web apps aimed at iPad. Only suggestion is to use Safari as your target browser as that seems to best reflect the iPad browser. If I remember correctly then either chrome or safari (possibly both..) also has functionality to emulate touches too. Still going to be not ideal though!

jam-bo
    chvck
    Free Member

Isn’t google brilliant…

That does help but a word of warning, it isn’t a perfect emulation of the browser itself in my experience, there are still some actual different browser quirks etc…

GrahamS

I’m a developer at a business software company. We need to include iPads in our list of supported web clients. We’re not allowed to enable access from the Internet to our development servers; and we can’t set up WiFi.

Simple solution: sack your IT team and get in one that can support your needs properly!

nickjb
    Free Member

Sounds like you need to set up in an internet cafe with wifi. All drinks on expenses. I’m a one man band so my budget is even smaller, I just check my website in the apple store when I’m in town 🙂

simon_g

VPN in from internet over wifi or 3G?

Not sure what the issue is with a properly controlled wifi hotspot either.

stevehine

any laptops in the area ? Surely the simplest thing to do is to create an ad-hoc hotspot from a machine on the network then disable it when you are done…