• This topic has 8 replies, 6 voices, and was last updated 6 years ago by karn.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • IP65 Rating assistance
  • yosemitepaul

Whilst at work today I had to take some contractors to fix a non-functioning CCTV system. The camera is atop a pole not too dissimilar to a lamp standard. (they didn’t fit the system just looking to see why it wasn’t working). As they removed the cover at ground level an extension lead with two plugs attached fell out. On looking into the pole, the power obviously comes out of the ground and into a sealed junction box. The extension lead is wired into the junction box. Into it was plugged a 13amp plug and a 12v transformer.
    Does anyone know if this is the correct way of wiring outside? Shouldn’t it be waterproofed and rated as such. Everything behind the cover plate was dry though not cobweb free. The extension sockets were about 12 inches above ground level. I’m no electrician and nor were the CCTV contractors but it just doesn’t look right to me. Any suggestions? The system was made to work again after wiggling around a network cable!

[url=https://flic.kr/p/Z2Saws]Untitled[/url] by Paul Whitehead, on Flickr

pk13

I’m no elechickin but that don’t look right to me is the extension cable going under ground into any reinforced trunking?

finephilly
    Free Member

absolutely no way is that right!! you can’t use a domestic extension lead outside – as soon as it rains you’ll get a short circuit! I’m surprised you didn’t get a shock. the galvanized cover needs at least a rubber seal. ip65 is supposed to resist water and dirt ingress ie splashproof.

yosemitepaul

I could only think that as water gets into the ‘pole’ then there is every chance it enters the extension cable, at which point I guess there’s a chance of the aluminium pole becoming live!!

pk13