• This topic has 90 replies, 35 voices, and was last updated 8 years ago by drlex.
Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 91 total)
  • iOS9 and Ad Blockers
  • jambalaya
    Free Member

The new iOS enables ad blockers with Safari and as a result they are some of the most downloaded paid apps having shot up the charts. All devices updated here FYI

So some questions,

1) Can I buy “peace” once for £2.29 and use it on multiple devices (as is usual for paid apps)
    2) Should we ? I have a paid subscription to STW so don’t see ads but if Apple users block ads STW losses revenue.

Personally ads on main news sites drive me nuts so happy to block them. Sadly Facebook you can’t block. Android explicitly forbids ad blockers on its ap store as ad revenue is so important to Google.

bikebouy
    Free Member

Dunno, but thanks for letting me know 9 is out 😆

jambalaya
    Free Member

🙂

Yes I saw an article late last night and downloaded when it was quiet, servers very busy now !

Mark

Yes we are going to be impacted by this but we are preparing for a transition in revenue streams away from display ads. There’s no point in any publisher sticking their heads in the sand about it or even trying to think of ways to avoid it by blocking the blockers. Publishing is going to need to adapt it’s business model and we are adapting.

Despite Apple effectively moving to kill off ad revenue for publishers they are providing for publishers elsewhere – namely via their News App in iOS 9. Publishers will be able to put ads in those feeds that the ad blockers will not be able to remove. Apple receives a 30% cut of ads that they put in a publisher’s news channel within this app.

So, you see what Apple are doing here.